BWG Logo with Golden Mean Photo
An Opera Emerges

Ernest Hemingway's For Whom the Bell Tolls, a new opera in two acts by composer Brian Wilbur Grundstrom and librettist David M. Dorsen.

Ernest Hemingway's

For Whom the Bell Tolls

A New Opera in Two Acts
Fighting Fascism and Sacrificing for Love
Music by Brian Wilbur Grundstrom
Libretto by David Dorsen
Jeffrey Sean Dokken, Music Director
Robert Barnett, Dramaturg

click here for more information and complete concert video

drawing of bridge
Indra Thomas Sings
Will He Love Me?
Maestro Jeffrey Dokken, Composer Brian Wilbur Grundstrom, Soprano Indra Thomas and Barbara Beninato with the Rome Symphony Orchestra

The London Symphony Orchestra
records the Overture for
For Whom the Bell Tolls
and ‘For Whom The Bell Tolls: Overture’ exits the listen with the best selection, where fluid melodies, charming percussive ideas and ebbs of bareness populate the multi-faceted finish of the Brian Wilbur Grundstrom original.

Overture by London Symphony Orchestra

Click here to watch interview hosted by
Christina Scheppelmann

Christina Scheppelmann

General Director, Seattle Opera

Press Release

Full video was released on 

Tuesday, July 20, 2021 at 7:00pm EST, 8pm Brasilia

Watch here: youtube

DC Commission on the Arts & Humanities
This project has been supported by the Sister Cities Grant program of the DC Commission on the Arts and Humanities